Pastor Jean's Weekly Faith News

Weekly Faith News

 

Join Our Collaborative Ministry Partners in Serving!

 

Mitzvah Days

Saturday, June 1 and Sunday, June 2

 

Serve with friends from New Hope Baptist

and St. Hilary Catholic churches

and Temple Israel!

MANY projects from which to choose, on either (or both) days!

Visit www.mitzvahdayakron.com for project details and to register, or call the church office (330-836-8811) for assistance!!

 

Some of the project locations/activities:

 

Akron Canton Food Bank

Advocacy

Battered Women’s Shelter

Bath Nature Preserve

Brookdale Nursing Home

Habitat for Humanity

Hospice of VNS

Nazareth Housing

OPEN M

Potluck Dinner Set-up

Project Linus

Ronald McDonald House cooking baking

Sewing for Haiti

 

All are invited to the potluck celebration at 5 p.m. on Sunday, June 2 at Temple Israel. Just bring yourselves!

 

 

MARK YOUR CALENDARS!!!

 

JUNE ENDS with CELEBRATION!

One Service on June 30

Reservations for lunch by JUNE 15

Celebrate Pastor Rick!

 

On Sunday, June 30, there will be one combined worship service at 10 a.m. in the sanctuary, followed by a lunch reception in the Fellowship Hall honoring Pastor Rick Gordon as he retires following 43 years of ordained ministry! We will give thanks with, and for, him on this special day, and welcome Bishop Abraham Allende, who will preside at worship.

 

Reservations are needed! Please let us know the number attending Pastor Rick’s retirement lunch and celebration from your household by June 15!

 

RSVP:  Polly Dobkin – call: 330-836-1719

Nancy Tobar, church office - call: 330-836-8811 or Nancy@faithlutheranchurch.org

             Derek Daily – text: 330-907-5563

 

 

 CALENDAR, May 20-June 9:

 

Monday, May 20: 6:30 p.m., Yoga; 7 p.m., Council; 8 p.m., AA

 

Tuesday, May 21: 9:30 a.m., Busy Fingers; 11:45 a.m., Pastor Rick’s Bible Study; 2 and 7 p.m., Book Club; 7 p.m., Scouts, CRC Rehearsal; 7:30 p.m., Al-Anon

 

Wednesday, May 22:7 p.m., Girl Scouts

 

Thursday, May 23: 9:15 a.m., Yoga; 10 a.m., Prayer Shawl Team

 

Friday, May 24:   

 

Saturday, May 25: 10:30 a.m., DLM, Holy Trinity  

 

Sunday, May 26: 9 a.m., Traditional Worship; 10 a.m., Kinship Café; 11 a.m., Contemporary Worship; 7:30 p.m., AA

 

Monday, May 27: Memorial Day: Church Office Closed; 8 p.m., AA

 

Tuesday, May 28: 9:30 a.m., Busy Fingers; 7 p.m., Scouts; 7:30 p.m., Al-Anon

 

Wednesday, May 29: 7 p.m., BOUND Rehearsal; 7:30 p.m., ABO Rehearsal

 

Thursday, May 30: 9:15 a.m., Yoga; 10 a.m., Prayer Shawl Team; 7:30 p.m., ABO Rehearsal

 

Friday, May 31: 7:30 p.m., ABO Rehearsal   

 

Saturday, June 1:  Mitzvah Day Service Projects

 

Sunday, June 2: 9 a.m., Traditional Worship; 10 a.m., Kinship Café; 11 a.m., Contemporary Worship; 12:30 p.m., Scout Flag Retirement Ceremony; Mitzvah Day Service Projects; 5 p.m., Mitzvah Day Potluck at Temple Israel; 7:30 p.m., AA

 

Monday, June 3: 6:30 p.m., Yoga; 8 p.m., AA

 

Tuesday, June 4: 9:30 a.m., Busy Fingers; 10 a.m., Akron Interfaith Council; 7 p.m., Scouts; 7:30 p.m., Al-Anon

 

Wednesday, June 5:

 

Thursday, June 6: 9:15 a.m., Yoga; 10 a.m., Prayer Shawl Team; 7 p.m., Staff Support Team

 

Friday, June 7:    

 

Saturday, June 8:  9 a.m., Men of Faith

 

Sunday, June 9: DAY OF PENTECOST! 9 a.m., Traditional Worship; 10 a.m., Kinship Café, Graduate Recognition; 11 a.m., Contemporary Worship; 7:30 p.m., AA